Richards Elected 2008-2009 Executive Committee Chairman

ORLANDO, Fla., July 18, 2008 — Members of the Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) elected Thomas W. Richards, P.E., Director of Electric & Gas Systems for Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, as FMPA’s Executive Committee Chairman for 2008-2009 during FMPA’s annual meeting held in Fort Myers, Fla.

This is Richards’ first term as Executive Committee Chairman. Richards previously served as Chairman of FMPA’s All-Requirements Project from 2000 to 2003. He also is the Secretary of FMPA’s Board of Directors and chairs FMPA’s Risk Oversight Committee.

Don Ouchley, Director of Electric Utilities for Beaches Energy Services, was elected as Vice Chairman. Ouchley serves on FMPA’s Board of Directors, Governance Committee and Member Services Advisory Committee.

Under a new governance structure approved in May 2007, FMPA’s Executive Committee includes one appointed representative from each member of FMPA’s All-Requirements Project. The changes give the Executive Committee power to independently govern and manage the business affairs of the All-Requirements Project.

FMPA’s All-Requirements Project provides all the wholesale power needs of 15 Florida cities, including Bushnell, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Green Cove Springs, Town of Havana, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Leesburg, Newberry, Ocala, Starke and Vero Beach. All-Requirements enables municipal utilities of all sizes to become owners—not just customers—of an efficient statewide power system.

# # #

Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) is a wholesale power company owned by 30 municipal electric utilities. FMPA provides economies of scale in power generation and related services to support community-owned electric utilities. The members of FMPA serve approximately 2 million Floridians. FMPA’s members include Alachua, Bartow, Bushnell, Chattahoochee, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Gainesville, Green Cove Springs, Havana, Homestead, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Lakeland, Leesburg, Moore Haven, Mount Dora, New Smyrna Beach, Newberry, Ocala, Orlando, Quincy, St. Cloud, Starke, Vero Beach, Wauchula and Williston. Additional information is available on the Internet at

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial