Local Utility Leaders Elected to Lead Statewide Agency

Public officials, utility managers to lead wholesale power agency for 2012-2013

ORLANDO, Fla., July 27, 2012 – Managers and public officials from municipal electric utilities throughout Florida elected six of their own to lead a statewide power agency in 2012-2013.

Elections for the Florida Municipal Power Agency’s Board of Directors and All-Requirements Project Executive Committee took place at the Agency’s annual meeting held today in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.

Four Officers Elected for Board of Directors

Members of FMPA re-elected Vince R. Ruano, City Manager of Bushnell, as Chairman of the Board of Directors for 2012-2013. This is Ruano’s fourth consecutive term as Chairman. Ruano has served as a member of FMPA’s Board of Directors since 1985. Previously, he served five years as Vice Chairman, nine years as Secretary and four years as Assistant Secretary-Treasurer.

Kevin McCarthy, Utilities Director for the city of Clewiston, was elected as Vice Chairman. He previously served six years as Treasurer. McCarthy has served on FMPA’s Board of Directors since 2002.

Lou Hernandez, Chairman of the Utility Board of the city of Key West, was re-elected as Secretary. Hernandez has served on FMPA’s Board of Directors since 2007. This is his fourth term as Secretary.

Bill Conrad, Mayor of Newberry, was elected as Treasurer. This is his first term as Treasurer. He has served on FMPA’s Board of Directors since 2009. Conrad also serves as Vice Chair of FMPA’s Policy Makers Liaisons Committee, of which he is a founding member.

FMPA’s Board of Directors makes policy decisions for the power supply projects of FMPA, except the All-Requirements Project. Each of FMPA’s 30 members appoints one representative to the Board of Directors, and Board officers are elected by popular vote of the members.

Two Officers Elected for Executive Committee

FMPA members also re-elected Howard McKinnon, Town Manager of the Town of Havana, as Chairman of the All-Requirements Project Executive Committee for 2012-2013. This is his second term as Chairman. McKinnon has served on the All-Requirements Project Executive Committee and FMPA’s Board of Directors since 2006.

Matt Brower, City Manager of Ocala, was re-elected as Vice Chairman. This is his third term as Vice Chairman. Brower has served as an alternate, and now member, of FMPA’s Board of Directors and a member of the Executive Committee since October 2008.

FMPA’s Executive Committee includes one appointed representative from each member of FMPA’s All-Requirements Project. The Executive Committee governs and manages the business affairs of the All-Requirements Project.

FMPA’s All-Requirements Project provides all the wholesale power needs of 14 Florida cities, including Bushnell, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Green Cove Springs, Town of Havana, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Leesburg, Newberry, Ocala and Starke. All-Requirements enables municipal utilities of all sizes to become owners—not just customers—of an efficient statewide power system.

#    #    #

Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) is a wholesale power company owned by 30 municipal electric utilities. FMPA provides economies of scale in power generation and related services to support community-owned electric utilities. The members of FMPA serve approximately two million Floridians.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial