Richards Re-Elected Executive Committee Chairman

ORLANDO, Fla., July 23, 2010 — Members of the Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) re-elected Thomas W. Richards, P.E., Director of Electric & Gas Systems for Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, as FMPA’s Executive Committee Chairman for 2010-2011 during FMPA’s annual meeting held today in Naples, Fla.

This is Richards’ third term as Executive Committee Chairman. Richards previously served as Chairman of FMPA’s All-Requirements Project from 2000 to 2003 and has served as an Alternate to the Board of Directors since 1991. He also serves on FMPA’s Audit and Risk Oversight Committee, of which he is a founding member.

Matt Brower, Assistant City Manager, Utility Services for the city of Ocala, Fla., was elected as Vice Chairman. Brower is also an Alternate to the Board of Directors and a member of FMPA’s Governance Committee.

Under a governance structure approved in May 2007, FMPA’s Executive Committee includes one appointed representative from each member of FMPA’s All-Requirements Project. The Executive Committee independently governs and manages the business affairs of the All-Requirements Project.

FMPA’s All-Requirements Project provides all the wholesale power needs of 14 Florida cities, including Bushnell, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Green Cove Springs, Town of Havana, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Leesburg, Newberry, Ocala and Starke. All-Requirements enables municipal utilities of all sizes to become owners—not just customers—of an efficient statewide power system.

# # #

Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) is a wholesale power company owned by 30 municipal electric utilities. FMPA provides economies of scale in power generation and related services to support community-owned electric utilities. The members of FMPA serve approximately 2 million Floridians. FMPA’s members include Alachua, Bartow, Blountstown, Bushnell, Chattahoochee, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Gainesville, Green Cove Springs, Havana, Homestead, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Lakeland, Leesburg, Moore Haven, Mount Dora, New Smyrna Beach, Newberry, Ocala, Orlando, Quincy, St. Cloud, Starke, Vero Beach, Wauchula and Williston.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial