FMPA Elects New Chairman, 2006-2007 Officers and Executive Committee

ORLANDO, Fla., July 20, 2006 – Members of the Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) elected officers, including a new chairman, at their annual meeting held in Naples, Fla.

FMPA’s Chairman for 2006-2007 will be James C. Welsh, P.E., President and General Manager of Kissimmee Utility Authority. Previously, Welsh served four terms as Treasurer, and he has held various offices in the Agency for more than 20 years.

“I’m honored by the opportunity to lead FMPA as we continue to serve the wholesale power needs of Florida communities,” said Welsh.

Vince R. Ruano, City Manager of Bushnell, was re-elected as Vice Chairman. Ruano has served as an officer of the Agency for more than a decade.

Kevin McCarthy, Utilities Director for the city of Clewiston, was elected Treasurer. McCarthy has served on FMPA’s Executive Committee for three years and has served on the Board of Directors since 2002.

Thomas W. Richards, P.E., Director of Electric & Gas Systems for Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, was elected Secretary. Richards served as Chairman of FMPA’s All-Requirements Project for three years and has served as an Alternate to the Board of Directors since 1991. He also chairs FMPA’s Risk Oversight Committee, which he is a founding member of.

Two long-serving Board officers also marked the completion of their terms. Elie J. Boudreaux III, Director of Utilities for the Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, completed three consecutive terms as Chairman. Susan Freiden, Town Manager of the Town of Havana, completed three consecutive terms as Secretary. Both have announced plans to retire later this year, after more than a dozen years of service each.

“Bud Boudreaux and Susan Freiden should be commended for their dedicated service to FMPA and its member cities,” said Welsh. “It is a pleasure to follow on the strong foundation they have helped establish for the Agency.”

FMPA’s Board also elected three members to the Executive Committee: Elmon Lee Garner, City Manager of Chattahoochee; Howard McKinnon, Town Clerk and Finance Director for the Town of Havana and Robert Padron, Chairman of the Utility Board of the city of Key West. Each will serve a three-year term.

#  #  #

Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) is a wholesale power company owned by municipal electric utilities. FMPA provides economies of scale in power generation and related services to support community-owned electric utilities. The members of FMPA serve approximately 1.9 million Floridians. FMPA’s members include Alachua, Bartow, Blountstown, Bushnell, Chattahoochee, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Gainesville, Green Cove Springs, Havana, Homestead, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Lakeland, Leesburg, Moore Haven, Mount Dora, New Smyrna Beach, Newberry, Ocala, Orlando, Quincy, St. Cloud, Starke, Vero Beach, Wauchula and Williston. Additional information is available on the Internet at

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial