Florida’s Public Power Communities Rally in Washington, D.C.

Orlando, Fla., Feb. 28, 2008 – Representatives from Florida’s municipal electric utilities were in Washington, D.C., on Feb. 25 through Feb. 27 to discuss energy and environmental issues with members of Congress.

Nearly 40 representatives of Florida’s community-owned electric utilities attended the annual event in Washington D.C. While in the nation’s capital, they met with members of Congress to discuss issues such as climate change, renewable energy, railroad competition and telecommunication services.

“Communicating with Florida’s Congressional representatives is more vital than ever since municipal electric utilities face new energy challenges,” said General Manager and CEO Roger Fontes. “Our goal is to work with members of Congress and the administration in order to provide reliable electricity at an affordable cost in an environmentally responsible manner.”

Representatives from 13 Florida utilities participated in this year’s Legislative Rally compliments of Florida Municipal Power Agency. The cities included Chattahoochee, Clewiston, Fort Pierce, Gainesville, Havana, Homestead, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lakeland, Leesburg, Orlando and Starke.

Two days were devoted to visiting with members of Congress. Participants met with Florida’s U.S. Senators, Bill Nelson and Mel Martinez, while each utility met with House members representing their communities. Overall, the representatives of Florida’s municipal electric utilities met with 13 Florida legislators and key staff members.

# # #

Florida Municipal Power Agency (FMPA) is a wholesale power company owned by 30 municipal electric utilities. FMPA provides economies of scale in power generation and related services to support community-owned electric utilities. The members of FMPA serve approximately 2 million Floridians. FMPA’s members are Alachua, Bartow, Blountstown, Bushnell, Chattahoochee, Clewiston, Fort Meade, Fort Pierce, Gainesville, Green Cove Springs, Havana, Homestead, Jacksonville Beach, Key West, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, Lakeland, Leesburg, Moore Haven, Mount Dora, New Smyrna Beach, Newberry, Ocala, Orlando, Quincy, St. Cloud, Starke, Vero Beach, Wauchula and Williston. Additional information is available on the Internet at

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial